My Medium (A Kyrielle)

my thoughts always clutter my mind
guilty fears that I keep confined
there is no way to displace them
poetry lets me embrace them

I brood and dwell on each dark thought
collect them til I’m overwrought
write them down and then erase them
poetry lets me embrace them

my sentiments and memories
thoughts that plagued me like disease
I have found the strength to face them
poetry lets me embrace them

my writing’s best when it’s painful
bless my thoughts, though they are shameful
morbid thoughts, I love to chase them
poetry lets me embrace them

© By PollutedPoet

26 Comments

  1. great sentiment,
    u write the best when it’s painful,

    cool, many poets do I guess…
    beautiful poem!

  2. Lovely poem…
    the first line itself blew my mind off..

    im here from Jingle’s blog.. you can read my poem at
    http://megzone.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/autumn/

  3. poetry lets me embrace fears and thoughts .. true true.. good poem! lovely, like Megzone says..!

    My Rally Entry is Here!
    http://leonnyes.wordpress.com/2010/10/06/night-nuances/

  4. I do like this poem a lot.
    The truth it shows. Very lovely.

    My Poet Rally Submissions:
    http://robinelizabeth58.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/the-rivers-cry/
    http://robinelizabeth58.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/burning-eyes/

  5. Boy that one is a winner. I loved it and can totally relate to it!

    http://www.livinginthemiddle.com/2010/10/my-dream-last-night.html

  6. The poetic form is fantastic! I’m going to try it! You convey feelings an dthe thoughts that spin the feelings with clarity and ease!

    I also resonate with your poem….”poetry lets me embrace them”

    my darkside, my dreams, the untouchable, undesirable…poetry embraces them!

    Thank you for this inspiration at this weeks poets rally!

    http://itslovelyannie.com/2010/10/06/different-rally-week-30/

  7. OMG what a poem.. strong thoughts penned down..

    Fragrance of Friendship

    Happy Rally

    –Someone Is Special–

  8. morbid thoughts i love to chase them- wonderfully nice..

  9. such beauty sprung right out of pain !

  10. “poetry lets me embrace them” TOTALLY AGREE!!!

  11. It’s like you read my mind and penned down what I’ve always wanted to write…I relate to each and every word in this poem!!!

    • thanks… I’m glad that a lot of people do the same as me….

  12. Your writing is simply beautiful.

  13. Thanks for sharing all of your entries. I particularly enjoyed this one–you’ve truly captured the mind of many a poet. I also appreciate your feedback on my entry–I was debating about whether to keep those stanzas because I was attached to some of the lines in them, but I agree with you that the imagery in the second stanza may be best used as the start for a new piece.

    • @julielaing – Thanks… I like your style alot, I’m glad I could help.

  14. My exact thoughts, you penetrated my mind didn’t you!!! lol
    Very nice 🙂

  15. “my writing’s best when it’s painful”

    I can totally relate!
    Continue writing!

    Luvluv,
    B

  16. Cool poem. Wanted to drop by after you were kind enough to check out my page, and I’m glad to see that you aren’t a bad poet yourself. Liked the imagery here, though thought the poem would benefit from changing the final line of each stanza to give each stanza a stronger identity. Very much enjoyed reading it, simply felt it would add to the themes you utilize for the poem. Thanks for posting, will have to come back to read more of your work.

    crb.

    • @caribbean fool – thanks for the review… the form of the poem is a kyrielle which is supposed to have the repeating last lines. It’s an odd form though, but I thik the intention is that the repetition goes unoticed because it means something different in every line. Didn’t quite pull it off, but I’m happy with the poem none the less.

  17. i relate on the writing in pain position. I t seems to emote better that way. I love your work


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Top Posts

  • Top Rated