Nothing Left

There is nothing left.
a smoky loft,
a blackened mess.
No air left for breath.
Toxic death.
Nothing left.

There’s nothing left
just chunks of ash, charred isolation;
The whole apartment is wasted.
Hopeless frustration.
Total Devastation.
Nothing left.

There is nothing left
my cat and I are now homeless.
We should have burnt with the rest.
we’re just lucky…
I guess?
but there is nothing left.

There is nothing left
and no insurance to replace it.
Reality sucks,
I’m totally fucked!
Let me calm down and face this…
Wow, there’s really nothing left.

There is nothing left.
It’s all destroyed and I’m deeper in debt.
If there is a god…
he’s putting me to a test.
How can I handle any more stress?
I can’t believe there’s nothing left!

There is nothing left
and no reason to go back
I need to pack
salvage my past
and somehow deal with the fact,
that there is nothing left.

There is nothing left.
So, I have no choice but to move on
and start from scratch.

Carina Fosse
27.09.2010

© By PollutedPoet On 9/27/2010 7:50:09 PM

26 Comments

  1. I like the spirit and thought of you moving on and starting from scratch…it kills the feeling of nothing left. Nicely written.

    Cheers!

  2. beautiful word flow..
    lovely job!

  3. Love the flow of the poem and you are great with your own style =)~ It is hard to start form scratch sometimes…takes courage and lot more…

  4. Wonderful images…what a dark feeling ending with an “ember” of hope.
    Thanks for sharing!

  5. A time to move on.. Liked it.. it is so beautiful…. I enjoyed reading it.. thanks

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  6. I can feel the emotion behind your words. Great job!

  7. What a way to move through such heavy, dark emotions and still end up with a door to some light at the end.

    Great!

  8. This is great.
    The repetitions really worked well in this one

  9. I hope the burnt-out, homeless part isn’t real for you. Nicely written–you put the reader in the shoes of the narrator.

    • Yeah, some 20 yr old kid in the apartment below mine hung clothes to dry on a heater. Cest La Vie.

  10. Definitely one breath at a time. When my friend Andy lost everything due to a tornadoI told him these words.
    For every bad thing that has ever happened to me something better has always come into its place.
    and it has always held true even when I did not see it at first.

    • good advice… thanks

      • As an inspiration
        I told Andy this same advice right after his rent house was destroyed by a tornado…He was the worst for miles, every thing was damaged and his elderly mother that he takes care of just got out of the hospital from a stoke just 3 weeks before.
        Within a month, after we moved the trash, salvaged what we could (moving that stuff seven times). He got back into a brand new home with the same rent that was handicap ready for his mom. He earned enough money to buy all new furniture and his life is now back to a better than normal.
        It may not happen this way for you, in every case it is different, but it will be better than before the bad happened… I have never see one time that this has not happened in my life. You will get through this and be stronger than before. I am sorry that any one has to go through such things though it is one of the toughest things that life can dish out.

  11. Wow! When there is really nothing left, than it’s time to move on and start from scratch. Sometimes new beginnings can be refreshing depending on where you are in life. You did a great job on this poem.

  12. woah!!! this is kinda storng!!! 😦

    what’s up???

    so much negative energy… but feels well exposed and well written 🙂

  13. Oh, I read this on more than one level: personal and environment. Nicely done … the reptitions work well here to reinforce the them. Well paced. 🙂 Thanks for a good read.

  14. This poem moved me and broke my heart. I’m so sorry about what happened.

  15. Life has slmmed me to the ground several times, leaving me with nothing but memories. Each time I learned to rebuild and became a stronger person. Your poem shows that you have a resiliency about you. You can restart and move on. Thanks for a welll written poem.

  16. Somethings when one is left with nothing they tend to find out that they have more then they realize…your words trigger some profound thoughts…thank you. (^_^)

  17. truly expressive and beautiful
    🙂

  18. this is horrible. a nightmare. very vividly written piece.

    visiting you from jingle’s TRP (Thursday Rally 4 Poets).

  19. So sorry– to lose everything is a shock. My advice is not to think of it all at once, just the one thing you need to replace at the moment.

  20. I LOVE this poem. And Im glad that you have the spirit to keep moving. I am going thru something similiar so for that reason too…it was great to read. very inspiring. As for me and my cat? we are moving to SF. And starting over.

    Bless yas.

    peace

    ps Im reading this book called Three Cups of Tea by Greb Mortenson. A great book for sucha time as this. if you haven’t read it you might want to pick it up.

  21. The repetitiveness of nothing left conveyed the incredulity of the situation perfectly, but your whole, ‘that is life’ attitude lifted the poem in a positive direction and is telling of a strong and spirited person. Great write…

  22. wonderful piece…thanks for sharing glad I stopped by!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Top Posts

  • Top Rated